Youth Awards Presentation Evening 2017

Mayor and Councillors are proud and inspired at this year’s awards

Group photograph of Special Award Winners at the 2017 Youth Awards
Group photograph of Special Award Winners at the 2017 Youth Awards

This year’s Bishop Auckland Town Youth Awards attracted a record number of nominations and at the Town Hall on Monday 26th June 2017, the Special Award winners were announced.

Hosts for the evening, The Mayor of Bishop Auckland Councillor Adam Zair and Andy Mitchell from Bishop FM told a packed audience that the standard and calibre of nominations had been exceptional.

All of the nominees received a certificate and Special Awards were handed out to eight outstanding nominees and one group:

  • Inspirational Volunteer; Abi Forster from Bishop Auckland Rugby Club
  • Sports Achievement; Niamh Dawson from Spectrum Roller Skating
  • Community Champion Award; Georgia grace Powell Abbott
  • Overcoming Adversity; Adam Summerbell, St Johns School
  • Music and the Arts; Millie Cairns, St Johns School
  • Outstanding Personal Achievement; Libby Burns, St Johns School
  • Community Mentor; Ellie Anderson, Bishop Barrington
  • School Champion; Jayellen Dixon, Bishop Barrington
  • Youth Team of the Year 2017; Stockton and Darlington Railway Youth Team

Winning £500 for their Team, Bishop Auckland Table Tennis Club, the Coach of the Year 2017 award was shared between Matt Porter and Lee Tinkler.

Councillor Zair said:  “What a fantastic evening!”  “As a Council we wanted to celebrate the fantastic young people we have here in Bishop Auckland.  The quality of the nominations exceeded all expectations and we are really proud of the amazing young sports people, volunteers, carers and school achievers here in our Town”